Barbara T. Bradford

Biografie şi Bibliografie

Barbara Taylor Bradford OBE (born 10 May 1933) is an English novelist. Her debut novel, A Woman of Substance, was published in 1979 and has sold over 32 million copies worldwide. To date, she has written 26 novels. Her 27th, Letter From A Stranger is due for release in September, 2011.


Early years

Bradford was born in Leeds, Yorkshire as the only child of Freda and Winston Taylor. She grew up in the Leeds suburb of Upper Armley and after Christ Church, C of E School (where she was in the same class as Alan Bennett) and Northcote School for Girls, she worked in the typing pool at the Yorkshire Evening Post before going into journalism. By the age of twenty she was the fashion editor of Woman's Own Magazine and an editor and columnist on Fleet Street for the London Evening News.

Writing career

Her first novel, A Woman of Substance, became an enduring bestseller and according to Reuters, it ranks as one of the top-ten bestselling novels of all time.[3] A Woman Of Substance has been followed by 25 others - all bestsellers on both sides of the Atlantic. Bradford's books have sold more than 85 million copies worldwide in more than 90 countries and 40 languages. Ten of her books have been made into television mini-series and television movies, produced by her husband, Robert Bradford.
Currently, one of the richest living authors, Bradford's personal wealth has exceeded £145 million, making her one of the wealthiest women in the UK. The 2009 Sunday Times Rich List estimated her wealth at around £166 million, making her the 31st wealthiest woman in Britain.

It has been reported that she is working on creating a new soap opera for the U.S. market with longtime soap writer Millee Taggart.

Personal life

Bradford lives in New York City with television producer Robert Bradford, her husband since 1963.

In 1999, Bradford became the first living female author to be featured on a postage stamp, when she was honored on legal tender by the nations of St. Vincent and Grenada. In 2002, she was again recognized with a postage stamp by the British Isle of Man. In April 2003, Mrs. Bradford was inducted into the Writers Hall of Fame of America. She was awarded an OBE by Queen Elizabeth II in the Queen's 2007 Birthday Honours list for her contributions to literature.

Bradford is a member of the James Madison Council of the Library of Congress. She is heavily involved in a variety of charity projects around the world including Literacy Partners, the Police Athletic League of New York City (PAL); PACT Parents and abducted children together US and UK Chapters; and The New York Pops Orchestra.


Five of her television adaptations were re-released on DVD in the UK in September 2008 by Acorn Media UK. These are A Woman of Substance; Hold The Dream; To Be The Best; Act of Will and Voice of the Heart.

Novels by Barbara Taylor Bradford

The Emma Harte Saga

    * A Woman of Substance (1979)
    * Hold the Dream (1985)
    * To Be The Best (1988)
    * Emma's Secret (2003)
    * Unexpected Blessings (2005)
    * Just Rewards (2005)
    * Breaking The Rules (13 October 2009)
    * Playing The Game (3 October 2010)
    * Letter From A Stranger (15 September 2011)

The Ravenscar Trilogy

    * The Ravenscar Dynasty (2006)
    * Heirs Of Ravenscar (UK) (2007) (The Heir in North America)
    * Being Elizabeth (2008)


    * Playing The Game (October 2010)
    * Three Weeks in Paris (February 2002)
    * The Triumph of Katie Byrne (2001)
    * Where you Belong (2000)
    * A Sudden Change of Heart (1999)
    * Power of a Woman (1997)
    * Her Own Rules (1996)
    * A Secret Affair (1996)
    * Dangerous to Know (1995)
    * Love in Another Town (1995)
    * Everything to Gain (1994)
    * Angel (1993)
    * Remember (1991)
    * The Woman in His Life (1990)
    * Voice of the Heart (1983)
    * Act of Will (1986)
    * Bradford's Living Romantically Every Day 2 October 2002
    * Children's Stories of the Bible from the Old and New Testaments Deluxe 1988
    * Luxury Designs for Apartment Living 1983
    * Making Space Grow 1979
    * How to Solve Your Decorating Problems 1976
    * Easy Steps to Successful Decorating (Illustrated) 1971
    * Etiquette to Please Him (How to be the Perfect Wife Series) 1969
    * Children's Stories of the Bible from the old and new testments 1968
    * The Complete Encyclopedia of Homemaking Ideas 1968
    * Children's Stories of Jesus From the New Testament 1966
    * Children's stories of the Bible from the Old Testament"" 1966
    * A Garland of Children's Verse 1960

Cărti de Barbara T. Bradford

Cum Cumpăr Cum plătesc Livrare
0 cărţi in coş
Total : 0 RON