Douglas Reeman

Biografie şi Bibliografie

Douglas Edward Reeman, born at Thames Ditton 15 October 1924 (age 89), is a British author who has written many historical fiction books on the Royal Navy, mainly set during either World War II or the Napoleonic Wars.

Reeman joined the Royal Navy in 1940, at the age of 16, and served during World War II and the Korean War. He eventually rose to the rank of lieutenant. In addition to being an author, Reeman has also taught the art of navigation for yachting and served as a technical advisor for films. Douglas married Canadian Kimberley Jordan in 1985.

Reeman's debut novel, A Prayer for the Ship was published in 1958. His pseudonym Alexander Kent was the name of a friend and naval officer who died during the Second World War. Reeman is most famous for his series of Napoleonic naval stories, whose central character is Richard Bolitho, and, later, his nephew, Adam. He also wrote a series of novels about several generations of the Blackwood family who served in the Royal Marines from the 1850s to the 1970s, and a non-fiction account of his World War II experiences, D-Day: A Personal Reminiscence (1984).


World War II novels

A Prayer for the Ship     
Dive in the Sun     
The Hostile Shore     
With Blood and Iron     
HMS Saracen     
The Pride and the Anguish     
To Risks Unknown     
Rendezvous – South Atlantic
His Majesty's U-Boat
(also named Go in and Sink!)
ISBN 0-09-114620-8
The Destroyers     
Winged Escort     
Surface with Daring     
Strike from the Sea     
A Ship Must Die     
Torpedo Run     
The Volunteers     
The Iron Pirate     
In Danger's Hour     
The White Guns     
Killing Ground     
A Dawn Like Thunder     
For Valour     
Twelve Seconds to Live     
The Glory Boys
The Blackwood Saga

aka The Royal Marines Saga

    Badge of Glory (1982) (1st in plot sequence)
    The First to Land (1984) (2nd)
    The Horizon (1993) (3rd)
    Dust on the Sea (1999) (4th)
    Knife Edge (2004) (5th)

Other settings

    High Water (1959)
    Send a Gunboat (1960)
    The Hostile Shore (1962)
    The Last Raider (1963)
    Path of the Storm (1966)
    The Deep Silence (1967)
    The Greatest Enemy (1970)

Richard Bolitho novels

(written under the name Alexander Kent)

    Richard Bolitho, Midshipman (1975)
    Midshipman Bolitho and the 'Avenger' (1978)
    Band of Brothers (2005)
    Stand into Danger (1980)
    In Gallant Company (1977)
    Sloop of War (1972)
    To Glory We Steer (1968)
    Command a King's Ship (1973)
    Passage To Mutiny (1976)
    With All Despatch (1988)
    Form Line of Battle! (1969)
    Enemy in Sight! (1970)
    Flag Captain (1971)
    Signal – Close Action! (1974)
    The Inshore Squadron (1977)
    A Tradition of Victory (1981)
    Success to the Brave (1983)
    Colours Aloft (1986)
    Honour This Day (1987)
    The Only Victor (1990)
    Beyond The Reef (1992)
    The Darkening Sea (1993)
    For My Country's Freedom (1995)
    Cross of St. George (1996)
    Sword of Honour (1998)
    Second to None (1999)
    Relentless Pursuit (2001)
    Man of War (2003)
    Heart of Oak (2007)
    In the King's Name (2011)

Cărti de Douglas Reeman

Cum Cumpăr Cum plătesc Livrare
0 cărţi in coş
Total : 0 RON