Ezekiel Mphahlele

Biografie şi Bibliografie

Es'kia Mphahlele (17 December 1919 – 27 October 2008) was a South African writer, academic, artist and activist. He was born as Ezekiel Mphahlele but changed his name to Es'kia in 1977.


Mphahlele's first book of short stories, Man Must Live, was published in 1947. Banned from teaching by the apartheid government in 1951, Mphahlele supported himself and his family through a series of clerical jobs before leaving South Africa to teach in the British Protectorate of Basutoland.

On his return to South Africa, Mphahlele soon found a job as a political reporter, sub-editor and fiction editor on the innovative popular magazine Drum,[1] under the editorship of Anthony Sampson and later Sylvester Stein, while studying for a Master's degree by correspondence at UNISA (The University of South Africa). Es'kia Mphahlele's life and work is currently found in the efforts of The Es'kia Institute, a non-governmental, non-profit organisation based in Johannesburg.

During the 1950s Mphahlele became increasingly politicised, and joined the African National Congress (ANC) in 1955. Disappointed in the ANC approach to matters of education, he later disassociated himself from the organisation. In 1957, Mphahlele was offered a job teaching in a Church Mission Society school in Lagos, Nigeria. Unwilling to permit him to travel abroad because of his political activities, the South African government finally granted him a passport in September 1957.

Mphahlele spent the following twenty years in exile: first in Nigeria, and subsequently in Kenya, where he was director of the Chemchemi Cultural Centre; Zambia; France and the United States, where he earned a doctoral degree from the University of Denver and taught at the University of Pennsylvania. Mphahlele returned to South Africa in 1977 and joined the faculty of the University of the Witwatersrand.



    The African Image (1962; revised edition 1974)
    Voices in the Whirlwind and Other Essays (1972)
    ES'KIA (2002)
    ES'KIA Continued (2004)
    Bury Me At the Marketplace: Es'kia Mphahlele and Company - Letters 1943-2006 (2010)


    Father Come Home (1984)
    Chirundu (1979)
    The Wanderers (1969)


    Afrika My Music (1984)
    Down Second Avenue (1959)

Short stories

    "The Living and the Dead"
    "He and the Cat"
    "The Barber of Bariga"
    "A Ballad of Oyo"
    "A Point of Identity"
    "Grieg on a Stolen Piano"
    "In Corner B"
    "Mrs. Plum"
    "Down the Quiet Street"
    "The Coffee-Cart Girl"

Cărti de Ezekiel Mphahlele

Cum Cumpăr Cum plătesc Livrare
0 cărţi in coş
Total : 0 RON