Hans Fallada

Biografie şi Bibliografie

Hans Fallada (21 July 1893 – 5 February 1947), born Rudolf Wilhelm Friedrich Ditzen in Greifswald, Germany, was a German writer of the first half of the 20th century. Some of his better known novels include Little Man, What Now? (1932) and Every Man Dies Alone (1947). His works belong predominantly to the New Objectivity literary style, with precise details and journalistic veneration of the facts. Fallada's pseudonym derives from a combination of characters found in the Grimm's Fairy Tales: the protagonist of Hans in Luck (KHM 83) and a horse named Falada in The Goose Girl.

Early life

Hans Fallada was the child of a magistrate on his way to becoming a supreme court judge and a mother from a middle-class background, both of whom shared an enthusiasm for music, and to a lesser extent, literature. Jenny Williams notes in her biography More Lives than One (1998), that Fallada's father would often read aloud to his children works by authors such as Shakespeare and Schiller.

In 1899, at the age of 6, Fallada's father relocated the family to Berlin following the first of several promotions he would receive. Fallada had a very difficult time upon first entering school in 1901. As a result, he immersed himself in books, eschewing literature more in line with his age for authors such as Flaubert, Dostoevsky, and Dickens. In 1909 the family again relocated, to Leipzig, following his father's appointment to the Imperial Supreme Court.

A severe road accident in 1909 (age 16)—he was run over by a horse-drawn cart, then kicked in the face by the horse—and the contraction of typhoid in 1910 (age 17) seem to mark a turning point in Fallada's life and the end of his relatively care-free youth. His adolescent years were characterized by increasing isolation and self-doubt, compounded by the lingering effects of these ailments. In addition, his life-long drug problems were born of the pain-killing medications he was taking as the result of his injuries. These issues manifested themselves in multiple suicide attempts. In 1911 he made a pact with his close friend, Hanns Dietrich, to stage a duel to mask their suicides, feeling that the duel would be seen as more honorable. Because of both boys' inexperience with weapons, it was a bungled affair. Dietrich missed Fallada, but Fallada did not miss Dietrich, killing him. Fallada was so distraught that he picked up Dietrich's gun and shot himself in the chest, but somehow survived. Nonetheless, the death of his friend ensured his status as an outcast from society. Although he was found innocent of murder by way of insanity, from this point on he would serve multiple stints in mental institutions. At one of these institutions, he was assigned to work in a farmyard, thus beginning his lifelong affinity for farm culture.



    * Little Man, What Now? (tr. Eric Sutton, 1933; tr. Susan Bennett, 1996)
    * Who Once Eats Out of the Tin Bowl (UK) / The World Outside (US) (tr. Eric Sutton, 1934)
    * Once We Had a Child (tr. Eric Sutton, 1935)
    * An Old Heart Goes A-Journeying (tr. Eric Sutton, 1936)
    * Sparrow Farm (tr. Eric Sutton, 1937)
    * Wolf Among Wolves (tr. Phillip Owens, 1938)
    * Iron Gustav (tr. Phillip Owens, 1940)
    * The Drinker (tr. Charlotte and A.L. Lloyd, 1952)
    * That Rascal, Fridolin (juvenile; tr. R. Michaelis-Jena and R. Ratcliff, 1959)
    * Every Man Dies Alone (US) / Alone in Berlin (UK) (tr. Michael Hofmann, 2009)

Note: Translations made by E. Sutton and P. Owens in the 1930s and 40s were abbreviated and/or made from unreliable editions, according to Fallada biographer Jenny Williams.


    * Der junge Goedeschal, 1920
    * Anton und Gerda, 1923
    * Bauern, Bonzen und Bomben, 1931
    * Kleiner Mann, was nun?, 1932 (English: Little Man, What Now?)
    * Wer einmal aus dem Blechnapf frißt, 1932 (English: Who Once Eats Out of the Tin Bowl)
    * Wir hatten mal ein Kind, 1934 (English: Once We Had a Child)
    * Märchen vom Stadtschreiber, der aufs Land flog, 1935 (English: Sparrow Farm)
    * Altes Herz geht auf die Reise, 1936 (English: An Old Heart Goes A-Journeying By)
    * Hoppelpoppel - wo bist du?, Kindergeschichten, 1936
    * Wolf unter Wölfen, 1937 (English: Wolf Among Wolves)
    * Geschichten aus der Murkelei, Märchen, 1938
    * Der eiserne Gustav, 1938 (English: Iron Gustav)
    * Süßmilch spricht, 1938
    * Kleiner Mann - großer Mann, alles vertauscht, 1939
    * Süßmilch spricht. Ein Abenteuer von Murr und Maxe, Erzählung, 1939
    * Der ungeliebte Mann, 1940
    * Das Abenteuer des Werner Quabs, Erzählung, 1941
    * Damals bei uns daheim, Erinnerungen, 1942
    * Heute bei uns zu Haus, Erinnerungen, 1943
    * Fridolin der freche Dachs, 1944 (English: That Rascal, Fridolin)
    * Jeder stirbt für sich allein, 1947 (English: Every Man Dies Alone (US)/Alone in Berlin (UK))
    * Der Alpdruck, 1947
    * Der Trinker, 1950 (English: The Drinker)
    * Ein Mann will nach oben, 1953
    * Die Stunde, eh´du schlafen gehst, 1954
    * Junger Herr - ganz groß, 1965

Cărti de Hans Fallada

Cum Cumpăr Cum plătesc Livrare
0 cărţi in coş
Total : 0 RON