James Aldridge

Biografie şi Bibliografie

Harold Edward James Aldridge (born 10 July 1917) is a multi-award winning Australian author and journalist whose World War II despatches were published worldwide and formed the basis of several of his novels, including the prize-winning The Sea Eagle about Australian troops in Crete.

Aldridge was born in White Hills, a suburb of Bendigo, Victoria. By the mid 1920s the Aldridge family had moved to Swan Hill, and many of his Australian stories are based on his life growing up there. Aldridge moved to London in 1938; he currently lives in Battersea, South West London.

The stories that are based on the real living conditions of his hometown of Swan Hill include his 1995 Children's Book Council of Australia book of the year The True Story of Lilli Stubeck, one of his St Helen series of children's books. He lived in Cairo for many years, writing several books about the Middle East, including Cairo - Biography of a City and the novels The Diplomat and Heroes of the Empty View. His 1973 children's novel A Sporting Proposition was adapted for the 1975 Disney film Ride a Wild Pony.

He won a Lenin Peace Prize in 1972 for 'his outstanding struggle for the preservation of peace'. He has also won the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize, the World Peace Council Gold Medal, and was awarded the Gold Medal for Journalism by the Organisation for International Journalists in 1972.


Signed with Their Honour (Wyatt & Watt, 1943)
The Sea Eagle (Michael Joseph, 1944) - John Llewellyn Rhys Prize, 1945
Of Many Men (Michael Joseph, 1946)
The Diplomat (Bodley Head, 1949)
The Hunter (Bodley Head, 1950)
Heroes of the Empty View (Bodley Head, 1954)
Undersea Hunting for Inexperienced Englishmen (Allen & Unwin, 1955)
I Wish He Would Not Die (Bodley Head, 1957)
The Last Exile (Hamish Hamilton, 1961)
A Captive in the Land (Hamish Hamilton, 1962)
My Brother Tom (Hamish Hamilton, 1966)
The Statesman's Game (Hamish Hamilton, 1966)
The Flying 19 (Hamish Hamilton,1966)
Cairo - Biography of a City (1969)
A Sporting Proposition (Ride a Wild Pony) (Little Brown, 1973)
The Untouchable Juli (Little Brown, 1974)
Mockery In Arms (Little Brown, 1974)
The Marvellous Mongolian (Macmillan, 1974)
The Ship's Cat (Jonathan Cape, 1977)
One Last Glimpse (Michael Joseph, 1977)
Goodbye Un-America (Michael Joseph, 1979)
The Lion's Cavalcade (Jonathan Cape, 1980)
The Broken Saddle (Julia Macrae, 1982)
The True Story of Lilli Stubeck (Hyland House, 1984)
The True Story of Spit Macphee (Viking, 1986) - New South Wales Premier's Literary Award, Guardian Award, 1986
The True Story of Lola Mackellar (Viking, 1992)
The Girl from the Sea (Penguin, 2002)
The Wings of Kitty St Clair (Penguin, 2006)

Cărti de James Aldridge

Cum Cumpăr Cum plătesc Livrare
0 cărţi in coş
Total : 0 RON