Jonathan Kellerman

Biografie şi Bibliografie

Jonathan Kellerman (born August 9, 1949) is an American psychologist, and Edgar and Anthony Award winning author of numerous bestselling suspense novels.

His writings on psychology (and specifically psychopathology) include Savage Spawn: Reflections on Violent Children. Most of his fictional stories feature the character of Alex Delaware, a child psychologist who consults for the police, assisted in his investigations by LAPD detective Milo Sturgis, who is what Kellerman describes as "gay, but so what?"  He has also written numerous essays, an art book on vintage guitars titled With Strings Attached and two children's books that he illustrated.


Kellerman was born in New York City, son of David, an aerospace engineer and inventor, and Sylvia, a dancer and office manager. He grew up in Los Angeles and received a BA in psychology at UCLA in 1971. He worked his way through college as a cartoonist, illustrator, journalist and editor, as well as by teaching guitar. As a college senior, he co-wrote an unpublished novel that garnered a Samuel Goldwyn writing award. That prize has served as a stepping-stone to film writing for other writers, but Kellerman deliberately avoided the world of screenwriting and enrolled in in a PhD program in clinical psychology at the University of Southern California. He received his PhD from USC in 1974. His doctoral research was on attribution of blame for childhood psychopathology and he published a scientific paper on that topic, his first, at the age of 22. He is currently a Clinical Professor of Pediatrics at the Keck School of Medicine.[3]

Kellerman's externship, internship and post-doctoral fellowship were at the Childrens Hospital of Los Angeles/USC School of Medicine, where he became founding director of the Psychosocial Program, Division of Hematology-Oncology. Kellerman's initial position at CHLA was conducting research into the effects of psychological isolation in germ-free "plastic bubble" rooms upon the emotional and intellectual development of children with cancer.

Simultaneously, he was assigned to minimize the destructive consequences of such intense treatment by developing a multi-disciplinary clinical approach. The success of that endeavor led to the expansion of psychosocial services to all oncology patients at CHLA and the program developed by Kellerman and his staff was the world’s first attempt to provide comprehensive, systematic emotional support pediatric cancer patients and their families and served as the template for what is now considered appropriate care. Kellerman’s experiences at CHLA led him to publish his first book in 1980, a medical text that he edited, titled Psychological Aspects of Childhood Cancer. He is, himself, a survivor of thyroid cancer.

During Kellerman’s time at CHLA, he also conducted research and published in the areas of disease impact and adolescence, disease-related communication and its effect upon emotional adjustment, pediatric pain management, sleep and anxiety disorders, the treatment of childhood encopresis, and the neuropsychological effects of central nervous system chemotherapy and radiation.

Kellerman’s extensive work with anxiety disorders led him to publish a book for parents, Helping the Fearful Child, in 1981. Four years later, his first novel, When the Bough Breaks, was published, became a bestseller and was adapted as a TV movie. He has published one, occasionally two, bestselling thrillers every year since. During his tenure as a practicing psychologist, he came into contact with the legal system as a consultant and expert witness and some of those experiences have impacted his novels.

Jonathan Kellerman lives in Los Angeles with his wife Faye Kellerman, herself a well-known bestselling crime writer. They have four children. Their oldest, Jesse Kellerman, is a bestselling novelist and award-winning playwright. Their youngest, Aliza Kellerman, co-wrote Prism, a young adult novel published in 2009, with her mother.

Jonathan Kellerman has publicly spoken out against what he calls the "misguided" release of severely mentally ill people into the community, where they must fend for themselves instead of receiving proper care. He has stated that such people should receive counseling and psychotherapy as well as medication, as opposed to today's model in which they receive only medication and no other care at all.


Alex Delaware

For short introductions of the books of the Alex Delaware series refer to the article Alex Delaware

    When The Bough Breaks (1985) (1986 Edgar Award & Anthony awards, Best First Novel)[5][6]
    Blood Test (1986)
    Over The Edge (1987)
    Silent Partner (1989)
    Time Bomb (1990)
    Private Eyes (1992)
    Devil's Waltz (1993)
    Bad Love (1994)
    Self-Defense (1995)
    The Web (1996)
    The Clinic (1997)
    Survival Of The Fittest (1997)
    Monster (1999)
    Dr. Death (2000)
    Flesh and Blood (2001)
    The Murder Book (2002)
    A Cold Heart (2003)
    Therapy (2004)
    Rage (2005)
    Gone (2006)
    Obsession (2007)
    Compulsion (March 2008)
    Bones (October 2008)
    Evidence (October 2009)
    Deception (March 2010)
    Mystery (March 2011)
    Victims (February 2012)

Petra Connor

    Survival of the Fittest (1997). Also an Alex Delaware Novel
    Billy Straight (1998)
    A Cold Heart (2003). Also an Alex Delaware Novel
    Twisted (2004)
    Obsession (2007). Also an Alex Delaware Novel

Non-series novels

    The Butcher's Theater (1988)
    The Conspiracy Club (2003)
    Double Homicide (2005) (with Faye Kellerman)
    Capital Crimes (2007) (with Faye Kellerman)
    True Detectives (2009)


    Blood Test, When the Bough Breaks, Over the Edge (1990)
    Devil's Waltz; Bad Love (2003)
    Double Homicide (2005) (with Faye Kellerman)


    Psychological Aspects of Childhood Cancer (1980)
    Helping the Fearful Child (1981)
    Savage Spawn: Reflections on Violent Children (1999)
    The Best American Crime Reporting 2008 (2008) (with Thomas H. Cook and Otto Penzler)
    With Strings Attached: The Art and Beauty of Vintage Guitars (2008)

Cărti de Jonathan Kellerman

Cum Cumpăr Cum plătesc Livrare
0 cărţi in coş
Total : 0 RON