Kenneth Oppel

Biografie şi Bibliografie

Kenneth Oppel (born August 31, 1967) is a Canadian author. Born in Port Alberni, British Columbia, he spent his childhood in Victoria, British Columbia and Halifax, Nova Scotia. He has also lived in Newfoundland and Labrador, England and Ireland.

Oppel's first published book, Colin's Fantastic Video Adventure (1985), was written while he was a high school student at St. Michaels University School in Victoria, which he attended at the same time as actors Andrew Sabiston and Leslie Hope, fellow writers John Burns and Bert Archer, and just before the NBA's Steve Nash and Flickr founder Stewart Butterfield. Oppel forwarded the newly completed manuscript to a family friend, that knew Roald Dahl, who in turn recommended it to his agent. Oppel went on to receive his Bachelor of Arts degree in cinema studies and English at Trinity College in the University of Toronto, writing The Live-Forever Machine (1992) during his final year. Oppel moved to England and wrote a number of books during that period, gleaning several ideas while working at typing students' papers. Oppel worked as an editor at Quill and Quire, the trade magazine of the Canadian publishing industry, from 1995 to 1996.

He is probably best known for his trilogy of Silverwing, Sunwing, and Firewing. A fourth entry, Darkwing, serves as a prequel to the trilogy.

Another recent series is Airborn (2004), its sequel, Skybreaker (2005), and Skybreaker's sequel, Starclimber (2008). They are set in a parallel Earth of dirigible travel, following the adventures of the main characters Matt Cruse and Kate de Vries. Starclimber, the third book in the series, was released in Canada in September 2008, in the United States in December 2008, and in the United Kingdom in May 2009.

Oppel has won numerous literary awards, including the 2004 Governor General's Literary Award for English language children's literature, a Printz Honor Award from the American Library Association (both for Airborn) and The Times Children's Novel of 2005 (for Skybreaker, named a 2006 Best Book for Young Adults by the American Library Association).

Oppel is married to Philippa Sheppard, a Shakespeare scholar and instructor,[1] and has three children, Sophia, Nate and Julia. He lives in Toronto, Ontario.


Young adult fiction

    Half Brother (2011)

The Apprenticeship of Victor Frankenstein series

    This Dark Endeavor (2011)
    Such Wicked Intent (August 21st, 2012)

The Silverwing Saga
Main article: Silverwing (series)

    Silverwing (1997)
    Sunwing (1999)
    Firewing (2002)
    Darkwing (2007) (known as Dusk in UK)

Airborn series

    Airborn (2004)
    Skybreaker (2005)
    Starclimber (2008)


    The Live-Forever Machine (1990)
    Dead Water Zone (1992)

Children's fiction
Barnes and the Brains

    A Bad Case of Ghosts (1993)
    A Strange Case of Magic (1994) (also known as A Bad Case of Magic)
    A Crazy Case of Robots (1994) (also known as A Bad Case of Robots)
    An Incredible Case of Dinosaurs (1994) (also known as A Bad Case of Dinosaurs)
    A Weird Case of Super-Goo (1997) (also known as A Bad Case of Super-Goo)
    A Creepy Case of Vampires (2002)


    Colin's Fantastic Video Adventure (1985)
    Cosimo Cat (1990)
    Follow That Star (1992)
    Cosmic Snapshots (1993)
    Galactic Snapshots (1993)
    Emma's Emu (1995)
    Peg and the Whale (2000)
    Peg and the Yeti (2004)
    The King's Taster (2009)

Adult fiction

    The Devil's Cure (2000)

Cărti de Kenneth Oppel

Cum Cumpăr Cum plătesc Livrare
0 cărţi in coş
Total : 0 RON