Marcel Ayme

Biografie şi Bibliografie

Marcel Aymé (March 29, 1902 – October 14, 1967) was a French novelist, children's writer, humour writer and also a movie and theater playwright.


Marcel Aymé was born in Joigny, in the Yonne département (Bourgogne). He studied in the Collège de Dole, and worked among other as a journalist in Paris. In literature, his first novel was Brûlebois (1926) and in 1929 La Table aux crevés won the Prix Renaudot. After the success of his novel La Jument verte (1933), he concentrated mostly on literature. He published children's stories, novels and collections. In 1935 he also started writing movie scripts. In theater, Marcel Aymé found success with his plays Lucienne et le boucher, Clérambard (1949), a farce, and Tête des autres (1952), which criticized the death penalty.

He died in 1967 and was buried in the Cimetière Saint-Vincent in the Montmartre Quarter of Paris.


One of Aymé's most famous short stories is Le Passe-Muraille or The Walker-Through-Walls, for which there is a sculpture in Paris that features the story's main character, Dutilleul. At the age of 42, Dutilleul suddenly discovered he "had the remarkable gift of being able to pass through walls with perfect ease." What begins as a novelty that gives him pleasure, ends up pushing Dutilleul toward more sinister pursuits.

Novels and short stories

    * Brûlebois, novel (1926)
    * Backse), novel (1935)
    * The Mill on the Sourdine or The Secret Stream (Le Moulin de la Sourdine), novel (1936)
    * Gustalin, novel (1937)
    * Behind Martin's Place (Derrière chez Martin), short stories (1938)
    * The Clandestine Beef (Le Boeufe Beautiful Picture or The Second Face (La Belle Image) (1941) - also translated by Norman Denny as The Grand Seduction ISBN 0722113110, and also by Sophie Lewis as Beautiful Image ISBN 978-1901285673.
    * Travelingue, novel (1941)
    * The Sorceress (La Vouivre), novel (1943)
    * The Man Who Walked Through Walls (Le Passe-Muraille ISBN 2070369617), short stories (1943) - adapted into the musical Amour by Michel Legrand
    * The Schoolboy Way (Le chemin des écoliers), novel (1946)
    * The Wine o' (Les tiroirs de l'inconnu), novel (1960)
    * The Sherif's Daughter (La fille du shérif) (1987) - posthumous collection of short stories, compiled by Michel Lecureur

Theater plays

    * Lucienne and the Butcher (Lucienne et le boucher) (1948)
    * Clérambard (1950)
    * Vogue la galère (1951), adapted into a film in 1973
    * Other People's Heads (La tête des autres) (1952)
    * Les quatre vérités (1954)
    * The Salem Witches (Les sorcières de Salem) (1954), adapted from The Crucible by Arthur Miller
    * The Moon Birds (Les oiseaux de lune) (1955)
    * The Blue Fly (La mouche bleue) (1957)
    * Vu du pont (1957)
    * Louisiane (1961)
    * The Maxibules (Les Maxibules) (1961)
    * La consommation (1963)
    * The Wall Cupboard (Le placard) (1963)
    * The Night of the Iguana (La nuit de l'iguane), adapted from The Night of the Iguana by Tennessee Williams (1965)
    * The Belzébir Convention (La convention Belzébir) (1966)
    * Le minotaure (1967)

Cărti de Marcel Ayme

Cum Cumpăr Cum plătesc Livrare
0 cărţi in coş
Total : 0 RON