R. K. Narayan

Biografie şi Bibliografie

R. K. Narayan (October 10, 1906 – May 13, 2001), shortened from Rasipuram Krishnaswami Iyer Narayanaswami (Tamil: ராசிபுரம் கிருஷ்ணசுவாமி அய்யர் நாராயணசுவாமி) was an Indian author whose works of fiction include a series of books about people and their interactions in an imagined town in India. He is one of three leading figures of early Indian literature in English, along with Mulk Raj Anand and Raja Rao. He is credited with bringing Indian literature in English to the rest of the world, and is regarded as one of India's greatest English language novelists.

Narayan broke through with the help of his mentor and friend, Graham Greene, who was instrumental in getting publishers for Narayan’s first four books, including the semi-autobiographical trilogy of Swami and Friends, The Bachelor of Arts and The English Teacher. Narayan’s works also include The Financial Expert, hailed as one of the most original works of 1951, and Sahitya Akademi Award winner The Guide, which was adapted for films in Hindi and English languages, and for Broadway.

The setting for most of Narayan's stories is the fictional town of Malgudi, first introduced in Swami and Friends. His narratives highlight social context and provide a feel for his characters through everyday life. He has been compared to William Faulkner, who also created a fictional town that stood for reality, brought out the humour and energy of ordinary life, and displayed compassionate humanism in his writing. Narayan's short story writing style has been compared to that of Guy de Maupassant, as they both have an ability to compress the narrative without losing out on elements of the story. Narayan has also come in for criticism for being too simple in his prose and diction.

In a writing career that spanned over sixty years, Narayan received many awards and honours. These include the AC Benson Medal from the Royal Society of Literature and the Padma Vibhushan, India's second-highest civilian award. He was also nominated to the Rajya Sabha, the upper house of the Indian parliament.

List of works


    * Swami and Friends (1935, Hamish Hamilton)
    * The Bachelor of Arts (1937, Thomas Nelson)
    * The Dark Room (1938, Eyre)
    * The English Teacher (1945, Eyre)
    * Mr. Sampath (1948, Eyre)
    * The Financial Expert (1952, Methuen)
    * Waiting for the Mahatma (1955, Methuen)
    * The Guide (1958, Methuen)
    * The Man-Eater of Malgudi (1961, Viking)
    * The Vendor of Sweets (1967, The Bodley Head)
    * The Painter of Signs (1977, Heinemann)
    * A Tiger for Malgudi (1983, Heinemann)
    * Talkative Man (1986, Heinemann)
    * The World of Nagaraj (1990, Heinemann)
    * Grandmother's Tale (1992, Indian Thought Publications)


    * Next Sunday (1960, Indian Thought Publications)
    * My Dateless Diary (1960, Indian Thought Publications)
    * My Days (1974, Viking)
    * Reluctant Guru (1974, Orient Paperbacks)
    * The Emerald Route (1980, Indian Thought Publications)
    * A Writer's Nightmare (1988, Penguin Books)


    * Gods, Demons and Others (1964, Viking)
    * The Ramayana (1973, Chatto & Windus)
    * The Mahabharata (1978, Heinemann)

Short story collections

    * Malgudi Days (1942, Indian Thought Publications)
    * An Astrologer's Day and Other Stories (1947, Indian Thought Publications)
    * Lawley Road and Other Stories (1956, Indian Thought Publications)
    * A Horse and Two Goats (1970)
    * Under the Banyan Tree and Other Stories (1985)
    * The Grandmother's Tale and Selected Stories (1994, Viking)

Cărti de R. K. Narayan

Cum Cumpăr Cum plătesc Livrare
0 cărţi in coş
Total : 0 RON